Board Structure

TUNA is a Utah-registered non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, governed by an elected Board of Directors. A quorum (over 50%) is required at each meeting to conduct business.

The Board is responsible for managing and directing TUNA programs and activities and for the financial health of the organization. Board members are elected at the annual Spring meeting (Salmon Bake). First-term Board members serve for a four-year term.  Subsequent terms run two years and a board member must stand for reelection and be put on the ballot.

TUNA Board members are expected to attend monthly Board meetings. The meetings are held at night (7 PM) the first Tuesday of each month, hosted on a rotation by individual Board members. If a Board member fails to attend three consecutive meetings without one-day prior notice, the Board member may be replaced. Board members are also expected to participate on one of the club’s sub-committees, help find volunteers for their committees, and produce plans and budgets for their responsible areas.

The officers of the club — President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer — are elected by the Board members at the first meeting after the spring election. Three Trustees or Advisers are also invited to all Board meetings, as well as our head coach. The current Board members and advisors are listed below.

Board Members

OfficersTitleEmail
Tom BonacciPresidenttuna@bonacci.net
Richard HodgesVice Presidentrmhodges@rmhodges.com
Secretary
Jen ZurickTreasurerjen.zurick@utahnordic.org
Board
Jen SantoroWeb/Newsjen.santoro@utahnordic.org
Kyler RendleMembership/Storekyler.rendle@utahnordic.org
Chris MagerlTrails and Groomingdaymag@hotmail.com
Stephanie StrohlMember Communicationsc-sstrohl@comcast.net
Randy EggertHappiness Captainrandy.eggert@utahnordic.org
Junior Programs
Steve CookProgram Director/Head Coachtunacoach@utahnordic.org
Jen SantoroPrograms Administratorjen.santoro@utahnordic.org
Advisors
Tim MetosJunior Outreachvtshopdog@me.com
Pete VordenbergJunior Committee Advisorharmony@utahnordic.org
Peter SwisherTUNA Yurtpeter.swisher@utahnordic.org
WCS
Richard HodgesRace Directorrmhodges@rmhodges.com

TUNA’s mailing address: TUNA, P.O. Box 9008, Salt Lake City, UT, 84109